Ancaster Old Town Hall

The Ancaster Township Historical Society was chartered in 1950 and is dedicated to promoting an interest in the history of Ancaster, Ontario. The Society meets October to May on the last Friday of each month. The meetings are held at 7.30pm in the Old Town Hall at 310 Wilson Street East. At these meetings we present a program of talks focusing on the history of Ancaster and Hamilton and the surrounding area. Visitors are always welcome! Our volunteers also are involved in supporting and assisting Fieldcote Memorial Park and Museum (64 Sulphur Springs Road, Ancaster), where the Society’s archives are currently located. Visit the Museum’s website for more details.


Facts about the Ancaster Township

  • Chartered on November 17, 1950
  • A registered charity
  • Inaugural meeting was convened by Mr. William C. Whitfield in the Township Hall
  • First public meeting was held on January 19, 1951
  • Society has proudly written and sold three publications: Ancaster’s Heritage, Ancaster’s Heritage Vol. II and Ancaster- A Pictorial History
  • Society has developed three leaflets:; Waterfalls of Ancaster; Historic Plaques in Ancaster; 45 Historic Sites of Ancaster
  • Meetings are held at 7:30 pm on last Friday of each month September thru November and January thru April at Old Town Hall, 310 Wilson St. East.
  • The Fessenden Award is offered by the Society each year in Ancaster High School; Bishop Tonnos Secondary School and Hamilton District Christian Reform High School. The best local history student receives $150 and runner-up receives a copy of A Pictorial History of Ancaster book.
  • Continual development of historical signage and plaquing for significant Ancaster locations.
  • Yearly contest for residents of Ancaster to locate the biggest tree of specified species.
  • Established the Archives at Fieldcote and continue to support both financially and with volunteers


2018/2019 Executive

President Rev. Canon Robert Brownlie
Vice-President David Matson
Past President Fran Cheyne
Secretary/Membership Bev Pedersen
Treasurer Raymond Wilson
Program Chair Cam Brandreth
Advertising and Promotions Vacant
Promotions, School History Prizes Margaret Anderson-Herrmann
Fieldcote Representative David Puskas
Westfield Representative Brent Beacroft
Member at Large Nell Konkin


Contact us or write to us at
Ancaster Township Historical Society
c/o Fieldcote Memorial Park and Museum
64 Sulphur Springs Road
Ancaster, ON
L9G 1L8